Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You is a sprawling double-LP exploring the deepest elements and possibilities of Big Thief. To truly dig into all that the music of Adrianne Lenker, Max Oleartchik, Buck Meek, and James Krivchenia desired in 2020, the band decided to write and record a rambling account of growth as individuals, musicians, and chosen family over 4 distinct recording sessions. Each session would focus on a handful of the songs without worry about how they fit with the other sessions. The focus throughout the process would be on creation and exploration, leaving the editing and judgement part of the album process until the end in the hopes that a perspective would be found through the process that could not have existed before it. In Upstate New York, Topanga Canyon, The Rocky Mountains, and Tucson, Arizona, Big Thief spent 5 months in creation and came out with 45 completed songs. The most resonant of this material was edited down into the 20 tracks that make up DNWMIBIY.

Get the latest from ATC Live