People Club is made up of Sarah Martin (lead vocals), Ray Sonder (bass, backing vocals), Saxon Gable (guitar, backing vocals), Pete Costello (keyboards, backing vocals) & Drew Deal (drums). The band formed in 2018 after they all moved to Berlin at roughly the same time in late 2017 from their respective countries (Australia, USA, UK, New Zealand). None of them knew each other previously apart from Saxon and Ray, but after putting the feelers out on social media that they were looking for collaborators, the five met via their online adverts, instantly felt a vibe and formed People Club. Singing about issues like sexism, racism, homophobia, the band’s distinctive aesthetic blends lyrical social commentary with a classic soul ensemble with a generous helping of lavish effects and synthesisers.

Get the latest from ATC Live